Cafe Eclectic

I’m a little late in the game on this one since we’ve been to this coffee shop at least half a dozen times. It’s one of the few places to eat that’s directly on Mud Island, so it gets the vote for convenience every time. As much as I love this adorable local place, I have an internal struggle over the prices. Somehow I overcame this personal conflict and paid a whopping $17 for lunch after my second final. While the food was delicious, it definitely wasn’t worth the $17. Granted, I upgraded my meal and added a shot of espresso to my coffee, so the exorbitance was expected.

The barista was very good at her job. As in, she talked me into buying way too much with her perky, helpful demeanor. I ended up with the chicken pot pie and a side of broccoli cheddar soup. Honestly, the soup was my favorite part of this entire meal. Perfect consistency, deliciously cheesy. The pot pie was also really good. The crust was nice and flakey, and the inside was full of delicious veggies.

image

Of course, I also got talked into a pumpkin chai latte, with an extra shot of espresso. Because hey, it was finals week, and I wasn’t really functioning. Might as well start shaking from caffeine overdose before the anxiety and frayed nerves got to me. This drink was recommended to me by two different people, too, so apparently it has a fanbase. It was really good, but I couldn’t finish it. Their mugs seem really big for some reason.

image

And I have to show Shelley’s lunch because it looked so pretty! I can’t vouch for the taste of the salad, but that macaroni was pretty good. Super fancy.

image

Overall, I like Cafe Eclectic. It’s got some good food options in addition to its stellar, beautiful coffee creations. However, it’s definitely a splurge type of coffee shop. If you’re going to eat a meal there, be prepared to spend more than $5, or split with a friend.

-L

Leave a Reply

