Soul Fish Cafe

You guys. I have to talk about this restaurant. It’s been on my list of places to go since I moved to Memphis, but I just never got around to it. There are a few different locations, but I went to the one in Midtown. It’s this rather small, simple restaurant on Cooper, and it has some fantastic southern food. It’s not terribly expensive either. Entrees hover around the $10 mark.

I’ve started this thing that whenever I go to a new local restaurant, I try to get something that screams “MEMPHIS!” So tonight I tried the Memphis Poboy. Pork, bacon, cole slaw, and BBQ sauce. Definitely Memphis and incredibly delicious. I’ve never been a huge BBQ fanatic, but I’m trying to acclimate to my surroundings. I’ve also become mildly obsessed with fried okra, so when I saw that as a side option, I couldn’t resist.

Image

The crawfish Poboy also looked fantastic. I only ate a little bit of the crawfish, so I can’t give my own opinion of the whole thing. But it disappeared fast enough to be pretty tasty. I also took home some of the caramel pecan pie…but I kind of obliterated it before taking a picture. My sweet tooth gets the better of me sometimes.

Image

 

I’m super excited about finding another restaurant that I really enjoy. I’m such a food addict, and it’s nice to have options.

-L

 

 

Leave a Reply

